Double Tall Apple Pie, Oh My!

Okay all, fall is officially upon us, and I have been dreaming about making an apple pie.  And, I’ll be honest, I’ve also been looking for an excuse to use my new apple/peeling/coring machine.  It’s been taunting me, gathering dust on my counter top.  So my lovely friend told me she was having a dinner party last weekend and it came to me.  “I can finally make that pie I’ve been dreaming of!”  So here she is, and my goodness she is a beauty.  As many of you reading this know, I’m sure you know pie making is a involved process but don’t get discouraged! It can be done in easy manageable steps starting with the crust.

I like to make mine a day before, so that I can whip it together and let it get a good chill on overnight before rolling it out the next day. ALSO THANKSGIVING IS UPON US. IF you need a last minute DELICIOUS INCREDIBLE PIE… Here she is!

HOMEMADE APPLE PIE CRUST, DOUBLE SIZE

Servings: makes one pie crust and one top, plus the glorious filling

INGREDIENTS:

  • Crust
    • 8 tbsp Crisco vegetable shortening
    • 2 1/2 cups flour
    • 5 tbsp ice cold water (literally, ice floating in it)
    • 12 tbsp unsalted butter
    • 2 1/2 tbsp sugar
    • 1 tsp salt
  • Pie:
    • 4 honey crisp apples, large
    • 2-3 fuji apples
    • 3/4 cup sugar
    • 2 tbsp brown sugar
    • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
    • 1 tsp nutmeg, cloves and 1 tbsp cinnamon
    • 1 egg white, beaten
    • 1/4 tsp salt
    • 3 tbsp flour

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Put Crisco and butter in freezer for 30 minutes prior to use.  While waiting, in separate bowl mix together flour sugar and salt.  And…. wait.IMG_5993
  2. When the time is up, put dry ingredients in kitchen aid stand mixer or large bowl and sprinkle Crisco over dry ingredients and combine on low, or use forks to mix. IMG_5980
  3. When well combined, add butter and mix again.  IMG_6016
  4. Next slowly incorporate ice cold water, tablespoon by tablespoon while mixing, when makes a ball of dough, split and wrap in plastic wrap.  IMG_6023
  5. Place in fridge for at least 1-2 hours or overnight.  I usually do overnight, makes the pie making process less arduous.
  6. NEXT DAY. Or one hour later, make the filling!!!!
  7. PIE FILLING TIME: Heat oven to 500 degrees, place 13 x 9 baking sheet in oven.
  8. Get a large bowl and peel, cut and core apples, and get a tool for this trust  me.  Took me 2 minutes to do all six, it was incredible. Add to bowl. IMG_6029
  9. Add sugar, brown sugar, lemon juice, nutmeg, cloves, salt, & cinnamon then mix! IMG_6034
  10. BACK TO THE CRUST: Roll out on floured surface and place in bottom of 9 inch glass dish and prick with a fork.  I usually have small chunks of butter still visible in my dough. IMG_6037IMG_6039
  11. Place filling in crust, leaving remaining fluid in bottom of bowl so its not too wet.
  12. Roll out top and either roll over self with hand or place parchment over crust and roll up to place on top of pie. IMG_6048
  13. Crimp edges, cut holes in top, top crust with egg wash with basting brush and a sprinkle of sugar and cinnamon and your ready to bake!IMG_6053

  14. Turn down oven temp from 500 to 425, place oven on warmed baking sheet in oven and bake for 20-25 minutes.  Will be golden brown. Turn oven down again to 375 degrees and bake another 35 minutes until deep brown and juices are bubbling trying to escape.
  15. Remove and cool, best if overnight so the juices have time to solidify and not be wet. IMG_6058IMG_6061
  16. ENJOY! Best IMO with cinnamon whip cream 😀

FAST AND EASY CINNAMON WHIP

Servings: As many as you will allow… 😀

INGREDIENTS:

  • whipping cream
  • cinnamon
  • sugar or splenda
  • vanilla extract
  • mixer or kitchen aid

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place whipping cream in mixer or use hand mixer to beat all of whipping cream until fluffy with whip cream texture.  Then add cinnamon, sugar and vanilla to taste. I start at 1 tbsp each and work my way up.
  2. STICK A FINGER IN THERE AND TRY IT. How could it be wrong.  THEN, apply to pie. I promise you won’t regret it. IMG_6055

So all, wishing  you a wonderful, fabulous thanksgiving.  May you be fortunate enough to be surrounded by those you love and cherish.  I know my table will be full of wonderful people this year, and I can’t wait to have them.

As always, happy cooking and of course eating! 😀 Until next time…

Leave a Reply

